Nous Joindre
Our Location

Health Sciences Centre, Université de Calgary, Calgary, Alberta

Telephone Number

(403) 210-7570

Email Address

national.manager@copn-rpco.ca

PARTICIPANTS

Participez à la recherche

Pourquoi vous enregistrer dans le
Réseau Parkinson Canadien Ouvert?

Votre participation à la recherche est essentielle pour faire une différence.

Des cliniciens et des chercheurs canadiens se sont unis pour accélérer la recherche sur la maladie de Parkinson. Cependant, leur succès dépend de la participation des patients.

Alt Text

ÉTAPE 1

COORDONNÉES

Vous serez amené à remplir vos coordonnées dans un formulaire lorsque vous cliquez sur «Participez». Lorsque vous soumettrez cette information, le/la coordinateur(trice) du centre des troubles du mouvement situé le plus proche de chez vous sera avisé que vous êtes intéressé à vous enregistrer dans le Réseau Parkinson Canadien Ouvert.

ÉTAPE 2

COMMUNICATION AVEC LE/LA COORDINATEUR(TRICE)

Lorsque le/la coordinateur(trice) du Réseau Parkinson Canadien Ouvert recevra vos coordonnées,  il/elle vous contactera par téléphone ou courriel pour vous enregistrer dans le Réseau Parkinson Canadien Ouvert.

ÉTAPE 3

VOUS ENREGISTRER

Si vous êtes d’accord, le/la coordinateur(trice) vous indiquera clairement comment vous enregistrer dans le réseau. Pour ce faire, vous devrez compléter certains questionnaires en ligne, par téléphone ou en personne, selon votre préférence. De plus, il se peut que l’on vous demande de venir en personne pour une visite dans le centre des troubles du mouvement le plus près de chez vous.

En acceptant de participer, vous allez jouer un rôle important dans:

  • Le registre national de patients: votre nom et vos coordonnées seront ajoutés à une liste qui permettra aux chercheurs du Canada de vous inviter à participer à des projets de recherche ou à des études cliniques
  • La base de données désidentifiées*: lors de votre visite en personne, vous recevrez un questionnaire et une ou des évaluations cognitives. Ceci permettra aux chercheurs canadiens d’avoir accès à vos données démographiques, médicales et cognitives qui pourront être utilisées pour des projets de recherche de pointe (*vos données ne seront pas identifiées avec votre nom)
  • La biobanque: lors de votre visite en personne, il vous sera demandé de faire un don de matériel biologique (sang) qui sera ajouté à la biobanque et sera utilisé par  les chercheurs canadiens pour faire différentes analyses scientifiques

Votre participation active à des projets de recherche est essentielle pour mieux comprendre la maladie de Parkinson et pour développer de nouveaux traitements novateurs.

Votre participation fera progresser les connaissances sur la maladie de Parkinson et conduira au développement de meilleurs traitements. Grâce à votre aide, vous, ainsi que les générations futures de patients, pourrez bénéficier des avancées de la recherche sur le Parkinson.

Comment est-ce que le RPCO aide les patients?

Plus de 100 000 Canadiens sont atteints de la maladie de Parkinson et de troubles apparentés. Présentement, il n’existe aucun test permettant de diagnostiquer avec certitude cette pathologie. Les traitements soulagent principalement les symptômes moteurs, mais pas les symptômes non moteurs qui peuvent avoir un impact considérable sur la qualité de vie. Ce réseau mobilisera les efforts des chercheurs et des cliniciens canadiens afin de promouvoir la collaboration multidisciplinaire et permettre la réalisation de projets de grande envergure qui s’avèrent impossible dans un seul centre. Nous créons au Canada un registre et des bases de données sans précédent axés sur la recherche en Parkinson. L’objectif de RPCO est de mener une recherche plus efficace et d’accélérer notre compréhension de la complexité de la maladie. Cette connaissance permettra le développement de nouveaux traitements contre la maladie de Parkinson.

“Le registre de recherche sur la maladie de Parkinson est important et doit être reconnu. Il enregistre non seulement les données, mais donne également des informations qui peuvent guider les recherches futures. J’aime travailler avec les chercheurs et faire partie d’une communauté de participants volontaires. Je veux continuer le travail de ceux qui ont participé avant moi dont je bénéficie présentement, et redonner aux générations futures.”

– Eldean Kathol, 84, diagnostiquée il y a 30 ans

Linda Bérard avec son conjoint et proche aidant Yves Lafortune

“C’est au début de l’été 2013, âgée de 44 ans, que nous avons reçue l’ébranlante nouvelle que j’étais atteinte de la maladie de Parkinson. Ébranlant oui, c’est le cas de le dire. Un Knock Out total….3,2,1 out! Notre vie chamboulée, nous cherchons à mieux comprendre ce mal insidieux qui m’envahi. Lorsque Dr Fon nous a parlé du Réseau Parkinson Québec [maintenant lié avec le Réseau Parkinson Canadien Ouvert], c’est sans hésitation que je m’y suis inscrite. Comme parents (et maintenant grands-parents), notre plus grand souhait est que cette pathologie chronique et dégénérative frappe son Waterloo et que les générations qui nous suivent puissent parler du Parkinson comme une maladie curable. À ce jour, j’ai participé à plusieurs protocoles de recherches et, dans la mesure de mes capacités, continuerai à le faire.”

– Linda Bérard, diagnostiquée en 2013

L’Initiative de recherche sur la maladie de Parkinson de Calgary [maintenant lié avec le Réseau Parkinson Canadien Ouvert] était bien organisée et a compris deux visites de 3 heures chacune. Les coordonnateurs de recherche étaient bien préparés, et mon expérience a été très agréable. Je considère que mon opportunité de participer à la recherche sur la maladie de Parkinson est un privilège. Impliquez-vous… Qu’attendez-vous?

– Laurine Fillo, 55, diagnostiquée en 2003

Plus d’information sur les troubles de mouvements

Contact Us
Our Location

Health Sciences Centre, University of Calgary, Calgary, Alberta

Telephone Number

(403) 210-7570

Email Address

national.manager@copn-rpco.ca

Participants

Take part in research

Why register for the Canadian Open Parkinson Network?

Your involvement in research is essential to making a difference.

Clinicians and researchers across Canada have joined forces to accelerate research in Parkinson’s disease. However, their success depends on people living with Parkinson’s disease’s involvement.

Alt Text

STEP 1

CONTACT INFORMATION

You will be prompted to input your contact information in a form when you click “Participate”. Once you submit this information, this notifies the coordinator at the Canadian Open Parkinson Network site that you selected that you are interested in registering for the network.

STEP 2

COORDINATOR OUTREACH

Upon receiving your contact information, the Canadian Open Parkinson Network coordinator will contact you via phone or email to register for the Canadian Open Parkinson Network.

STEP 3

REGISTER

If you agree, the coordinator will provide you with clear instructions on how to enroll. This will entail filling out some questionnaires either online, over the phone, or in-person based on your preference. Additionally, you may be asked to come for an in-person visit at the Canadian Open Parkinson Network site you selected.

Who can participate?

People of any age living in Canada and diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease or any Parkinson Plus Syndrome, at any stage of the disease, are welcome become a C-OPN participant. We are currently recruiting participants at the following sites:

  • University of British Columbia (Vancouver, British Columbia)
  • University of Alberta (Edmonton, Alberta)
  • University of Calgary (Calgary, Alberta)
  • University of Toronto (Toronto, Ontario)
  • University of Ottawa (Ottawa, Ontario)
  • McGill University (Montreal, Quebec)
  • University of Montreal (Montreal, Quebec)
  • University of Laval (Quebec City, Quebec)
  • Clinique Neuro-Lévis (Lévis, Quebec)

Some of our sites are also recruiting healthy controls. For the purposes of this study, a healthy control is someone with no history of Parkinson’s disease or Parkinson Plus Syndrome, and no diagnosis of any other neurodegenerative disorder. The following sites are recruiting healthy controls:

  • University of Calgary (Calgary, Alberta)
  • McGill University (Montreal, Quebec)
  • University of Montreal (Montreal, Quebec)
  • University of Laval (Quebec City, Quebec)
  • Clinique Neuro-Lévis (Lévis, Quebec)

By consenting to participate, you will be an essential part of:

  • National Registry: your name and contact information will be added to a list that allows scientists across Canada to invite you to participate in research or clinical studies
  • De-identified* Database: during your in-person or remote visit you will be given a questionnaire and cognitive assessment allowing your demographic, medical, and cognitive information to be made available to scientists across Canada to support cutting-edge research (*your data will not be labeled with your name)
  • Biobank: during your in-person visit you will be asked to donate biological materials (blood) that will be added to the research bank for scientists and clinicians from across Canada to use for different analyses

If you have any questions about becoming a C-OPN participant, please do not hesitate to email the National Manager at national.manager@copn-rpco.ca

Your participation in active research projects is essential to better understand Parkinson’s disease, and for future development of innovative therapies.

Your participation will advance knowledge about Parkinson’s and lead to improved treatments. You and future generations can benefit and this is only possible with your help.

How does C-OPN help people with Parkinson’s disease?

More than 100,000 Canadians live with Parkinson’s disease and related disorders. Currently, there are no definitive tests to diagnose Parkinson’s disease, and treatment addresses mainly the motor symptoms and not the non-motor-symptoms, which can have huge impacts on quality of life. This network will harness efforts from researchers and clinicians across Canada in order to promote multidisciplinary collaborations, and enable large-scale projects not possible at a single centre. We are creating an unprecedented registry and database in Canada focused on Parkinson’s research. C-OPN will drive more efficient research and accelerate our understanding of the complexity of the disease. This knowledge will lead to novel treatments for Parkinson’s.

“The Parkinson’s research registry is important and should be recognized. It not only records data, but also gives out information that can guide future research. I enjoy working with the researchers and being part of a larger community of volunteer participants. I want to pay back prior study participants, who helped research that I benefit from and now I can pay it forward to future generations. This is your chance to be part of the future knowledge of Parkinson’s disease.”

– Eldean Kathol, 84, diagnosed 30 years ago

Linda Bérard with her partner and caregiver Yves Lafortune

“It was early in the summer of 2013, at the age of 44, that we received the shocking news that I had Parkinson’s disease. And it was shocking. A total Knock Out … .3,2,1 out! Our life was turned upside down, and we sought to better understand this insidious disease that invades me. When Dr. Fon told us about the Quebec Parkinson Network [now linked to the Canadian Open Parkinson Network], I registered without hesitation. As parents (and now grandparents), our greatest wish is to win the fight against this chronic and degenerative disease so that generations following us will speak about Parkinson’s as a curable disease. To date, I have participated in several research protocols and, to the best of my abilities, I will continue to do so. ”

– Linda Bérard, diagnosed in 2013

The Calgary Parkinson Research Initiative [now linked to the Canadian Open Parkinson Network] was well organized and comprised of two site visits of 3 hours each. The research coordinators were well prepared and this made participation enjoyable. I consider it a privilege to have the opportunity to advance research in Parkinson’s disease. Get involved… What are you waiting for?

– Laurine Fillo, 55, diagnosed in 2003

More information about Movement Disorders